sharing books … the Outlander series, by Diana Gabaldon

I want to introduce you to one of my favourite loooong series, the Outlander series, written by Diana Gabaldon. (Ok, I say that about all the series I review here … sorry about that! But seriously, I only share books I love here.]

To date, there are seven big fat juicy books in the series, and more to come, I believe. In order, they are Cross Stitch [or Outlander, depending on where you live], Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, Drums of Autumn, The Fiery Cross, A Breath of Snow and Ashes and An Echo in the Bone. Phew!!! It is very hard to put these books into a category … they are kind of a mix of historical romance, fantasy, and mystery. Diana says that she puts a lot of research into her books, and has even seen them sold under the ‘non-fiction’ banner.

I visited Diana’s website today, and found this description of the first in the series, Cross Stitch

In 1946, after WWII, a young Englishwoman named Claire Beauchamp Randall goes to the Scottish Highlands with her husband, Frank.   She’s an ex-combat nurse, he’s been in the army as well, they’ve been separated for the last six years, and this is a second honeymoon; they’re getting re-acquainted with each other, thinking of starting a family.  But one day Claire goes out walking by herself, and comes across a circle of standing stones–such circles are in fact common all over northern Britain.  She walks through a cleft stone in the circle … and disappears. [from here … ]

This is a series I read usually every year … and I was totally excited to see that they are now available as eBooks, so An Echo in the Bone is now on my iPad, and Books 1-6 are pre-ordered, and will magically be delivered to my iPad on August 31!

You can find the eBooks and paper copies here at Amazon. I love the characters, Claire, Jamie, their daughter … in a long series you get to know and love the characters as they develop over time. I love Diana’s sense of humour, particularly in the relationship between Claire and Jaime.

I am also amused by the fact that Briana (Claire’s daughter) isn’t really all that fond of the ‘camping’ conditions she often finds herself living in … that would so be me, looking for 5 star accommodation in the 1600/1700s, not something you would easily find in the wilds of early American life. Fabulous books … I recommend this series!

Related posts:

This entry was posted in sharing books. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.


  1. Posted August 25, 2011 at 9:55 pm | Permalink

    Cannot recommend these books enough. I too read them about once a year, and have since finding them around 2005. Engrossing stories, excellent historic tidbits and beautiful descriptions. Love them!

  2. Debs
    Posted August 28, 2011 at 12:49 pm | Permalink

    Hey Sharon! Thanks for this review, I’m always looking for good reads. Right now I’m reading the final book in the Hunger Games series,.. Mockingjay, omg, i can’t keep myself from turning the pages to find out what will come of all the twists and turns from the first two… anyway, thanks again =)

  3. iDebbie
    Posted August 28, 2011 at 5:32 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for this post, Sharon! I’ve been looking for a new series to read on my Kindle/iPad since the Harry Potter and Twilight series both ended. I’ll take a look at this series. You sure make it sound wonderful! I used to read tons of historical romance novels in my youth, so maybe this series will appeal to me. I hope so! 🙂

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>