sharing books … Weather Warden series, by Rachel Caine

I want to introduce you to a great series that has been around for a little while now, the Weather Warden series by Rachel Caine. Best part … ? There are nine books in the series to date, so you don’t have to wait and wait and wait for the next book to be printed. I love it when I find a great series that is already underway … and even better, six are available as eBooks too (and are downloaded safely on my iPad.)

I am reading through Rachel Caine’s Morganville Vampire series too, and while I was waiting for book 10 to be printed, I wondered if there was something else by the author that I would enjoy reading. Enter stage right … the Weather Warden series.

I must admit to being a bit skeptical about the content … how could controlling the weather make for an interesting story? Well, let me assure you, it makes for a fabulous read, when written by Rachel Caine. I am thoroughly enjoying a change of pace, leaving the vampires behind, and moving on to Djin (sorta like a genie in a bottle). I am up to Firestorm, and relishing the read.

I love this synopsis that Danielle has written …

This is a very unique adult Urban Fantasy series. Rachel Caine’s ‘Weather Warden’ books are set in our world, but not as we know it. There are no vampires, werewolves or fae in sight. Instead there is a covert organization of humans with special talents for commanding the elements: earth, fire, wind and water. They use these powers to control Mother Nature – from tornadoes to tidal waves and bush fires. In this world regular humans are none the wiser about Weather Wardens and the risks they take every day to prevent and handle natural disasters.

Helping the Wardens are Dijn, or as they are known in popular culture, genies. But don’t get them confused with the ‘I dream of’ variety. These Dijn are badass and dangerous. They have claws, fangs and can control space and time. The Wardens and Dijn have a master-slave relationship; the Wardens are able to control and command the Dijn because each one is imprisoned, bound to the will of whichever Warden has control of their ‘bottles’.

The protagonist of the ‘Weather Warden’ series is Joanne Baldwin: a low-level wind Warden who, when we meet her in book #1 (‘Ill Wind’) is on the run. Accused of murdering her boss, Joanne has to prove to the Weather Council that she is innocent and has been set-up. But first she needs proof of her innocence, and she doesn’t trust the council to take her on her word. She sets out in search of her old friend and crush, Lewis Orwell, who was last seen fleeing the council with three stolen Dijn bottles.

Joanne sets out in her hot purple Mustang (‘Delilah’) in search of Lewis and the truth …

You can find more of her book review of this series here

This is an adult urban fantasy series, so expect a little bad language and heavy breathing at times … this said, I am totally enjoying the series!

Related posts:

This entry was posted in book reviews, sharing books. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>